

From the Honorary Secretary:
Fenny Smith
24 Sandringham Close
Ross-on-Wye
Herefordshire
HR9 7XN
secretary@bshm.ac.uk

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the BSHM held virtually on the Zoom platform on Saturday 9th December 2023

The meeting opened at 12.40 pm. There were 35 members of the Society present.

1. Apologies for absence None

Before proceeding, members normally stand in respect for those members who have sadly died in the last year:

Michael McManus of Mold North Wales
Mr Derek Goldrei of Oxford
Prof David Singmaster of London.
Dr Roger Webster of Sheffield
Mr David Williams of Seaford
Prof Jim Bennett of Oxford
Eduardo Ortiz
Richard Simpson former Council Secretary

2. Minutes of the AGM held on Saturday 11th December 2021

a) Approval of Minutes

The minutes were approved *nem.con*.. Proposed Brigitte Stenhouse, Seconded Deborah Kent

b) Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

3. Officers' Reports and Accounts

These refer to the timeframe Jan 1st to Dec 31st 2022 and are collated under the BSHM Annual Report and Accounts 2021, filed with Companies House.

a) The Officers outlined their reports as in the above document, as well as giving reports for 2023. There were no questions on the report, which was approved unanimously (Proposed Terry Froggatt, Seconded Isobel Falconer). The Officers' reports for 2022 are collated in the BSHM Annual Report and Accounts 2022, circulated with this document.

4. <u>Election of Council for 2023</u>

The names of the nominated Council for 2022 together with their biographies had been circulated to all members. No BSHM member had subsequently asked for anyone else to be nominated. They were as follows:

President **Chris Hollings Immediate Past President** Sarah Hart Treasurer Simon Gardiner Secretary Jane Wess Membership Secretary Tony Mann **Communications Officer** Dorothy Leddy **Meetings Coordinator Brigitte Stenhouse Education Officer** Ciarán Mac an Bhaird

Elected (ordinary) member of Council
Elected (ordinary) member of Council
Elected (ordinary) member of Council
Co-opted JMC Representative

Máté Szabó
Deborah Kent
Clare Moriarty
June Barrow-Green

Note: The following continue in their roles but will not be permanent members of Council:

Web Admin Troy Astarte
Journal Editor Isobel Falconer

The motion that the **nominated Council be adopted** was passed *nem.con.*. Proposed David Martin, Seconded Robin Wilson

5. <u>Appointment of Andrew Thurburn & Co., 38 Tamworth Road, Croydon, as the Society's accountants and independent examiner</u>

The motion that **Andrew Thurburn & Co be re-appointed as the Society's accountants and independent examiner** was passed unanimously. Proposer Troy Astarte, Seconder Brigitte Stenhouse

6. The voting was managed by Zoom polls (many thanks to Troy Astarte).

7. Any other business

Sarah Hart and Simon Gardiner explained the background to the current process of updating the BSHM Articles of Association (our constitution). They haven't been updated since they were first set up 50 years ago, and need to be brought into line with modern methods of communication, recent banking laws to increase security and discourage money laundering, and also to trim down the number of directors so as to make the society more agile when legislation requires changes. A new version will be presented to the Membership in 2024, and an EGM called to discuss and adopt them.

8. The meeting closed at 13.15 pm.

Fenny Smith, Outgoing Hon. Secretary 06/01/2024

